Mechanical switches are used to permit or interrupt the flow of current in a circuit. They can be used to direct current to different points in a circuit.

Single-Pole, Single-Throw (SPST)

Single-Pole, Double-Throw (SPDT)
Double-Pole, Single-Throw (DPST)

Double-Pole, Double-Throw (DPDT)

Single Pole Switch

A switch in which only one circuit is controlled.

See also: Air Pressure Switch, Air Temperature Switch, Centrifugal Cutout Switch, Foot Switch, Limit Switch, Pressure Switch, Rotary Switch, Switchgear, Transfer Switch.

Previous PageView links to and from this pageNext Page

Subjects: Electronics