A spherical ball of rock and/or gas that orbits a star. The Earth is a planet. Our solar system has nine planets. These planets are, in order of increasing average distance from the Sun: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto.

See also: Accumulation Theory, Atmosphere, Pole, Prebiotic, Protoplanet, Protoplanetary Disc.

Previous PageView links to and from this pageNext Page

Subjects: Astronomy Physics