A characteristic that distinguishes different types of hadrons and leptons with different masses.

The six flavours of quarks are:

in increasing order of mass.

The flavours of charged leptons are:

again in increasing order of mass.

For each charged lepton flavour there is a corresponding neutrino flavour.

See also: Hadrons, Lepton, Weak Interaction, W Particles.

Previous PageView links to and from this pageNext Page

Subjects: Physics